News and Media

Professor Craig Simmons awarded prestigious MSSANZ Biennial Medal

Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor of Hydrogeology, Inaugural Schultz Chair in the Environment and Director of the National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training, Professor Craig Simmons, has been awarded the prestigious Biennial Medal of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand (MSSANZ).

Biennial Medals are the highest award given by the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand. They are awarded for ‘exceptional research contributions to modelling and simulation’ across all disciplines. Award criteria include: an exceptional and sustained research contribution to the advancement of modelling and simulation for the solution of scientific and technological problems as evidenced by global recognition and publication record; and an outstanding proven record as a key influencer and disciplinary leader in their industry.

The Biennial Medal recognises Professor Simmons’ contributions to groundwater modelling in a career spanning over two decades.  

Groundwater modelling is a primary tool employed by hydrogeologists to understand and manage groundwater resources. Professor Simmons together with his colleagues and students have used modelling and simulation to understand, conceptualise, predict and explain groundwater behaviour. Their work is answering critical questions about our environment, food and water security, coal seam gas and fracking, mining, energy and nuclear waste disposal. 

The Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand aims to promote, develop and assist in the study of all areas of modelling and simulation.

One of the Society's main activities is organising the MODSIM biennial congresses on Modelling and Simulation (the first held in 1974). These congresses are highly regarded and well attended.

Professor Simmons was presented the Biennial Medal at the Society’s MODSIM 2017 conference dinner on Thursday 7 December in Hobart. In receiving this award, Professor Simmons joins a group of distinguished international scientists and researchers, from all fields of modelling and simulation, who have received this significant honour from the Society. Previous Medallists include renowned scientists Prof Hugh Possingham, Prof Murugesu Sivapalan, Emeritus Prof Tom Chapman and Dr George Hornberger.

More information can be found at: